FB Group

Share the Passion

To exchange links with me, please send mail to madhusudan (dot) gr (at) gmail.com.
Session-dashboard - Tracking Test Matches as they progress.
Tracking T20 run-chases in an innovative manner - See here.

Friday, September 23, 2005

Super Series - WorldXI team announced...

20-Sep-2005: Australia announces their team. Surprising Changes with Hayden (in ODI team)P, Martyn, Gillespie, Kasper all dropped.

23-August-2005: Hadlee announced the team for the Super Series. John Wright will be the coach for the teams announced. I am highlighting the differences between the selectors' team and mine below. The ones in RED are the ones those who I had selected but have been dropped :( whereas the ones in blue are the ones selected by Gavaskar's team but those that I had not selected.

Gavaskar and his team have announced the 20 players to be considered for the 14.

The WorldXI Initial team has been announced for the Super Series Matches against Australia. This is an initial team of 30 players, which will be reduced to 20 and later 14.

The 39-member list includes 21 players who have been shortlisted for both the one-off six-day Test and a three-match one-day series to be hosted by the world's top-ranked team. Pakistan head the list with nine players among 30 probables each chosen for the test and one-dayers followed by seven each from England, South Africa and India.

The captains and vice-captains will be announced when the squads are reduced to 20 each in July. In the following month they will be trimmed to 14 players for the one-dayers and 13 for the Test.

The one-day series will be played in Melbourne on October 5, 7 and 9 and the six-day Test will be staged at the Sydney Cricket Ground from October 14-19.


England - Andrew Flintoff (both Test and one-day); Steve Harmison, Andrew Strauss, Michael Vaughan (Test); Darren Gough, Kevin Pietersen, Marcus Trescothick (one-day).

India - Rahul Dravid, Irfan Pathan, Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh, Sachin Tendulkar (both); Anil Kumble, Vangipurappu Laxman (Test).

New Zealand - Brendon McCullum, Daniel Vettori (both).

Pakistan - Shoaib Akhtar, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Naved-ul-Hasan (both); Danish Kaneria, Younis Khan (Test); Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Abdul Razzaq, Yousuf Youhana (one-day).

South Africa - Mark Boucher, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Makhaya Ntini, Shaun Pollock (both); Andre Nel, Graeme Smith (Test).

Sri Lanka - Muttiah Muralitharan, Kumar Sangakkara, Chaminda Vaas (both); Sanath Jayasuriya (one-day).

West Indies - Brian Lara, Ramnaresh Sarwan (both). Chris Gayle (one-day).

We will analyze this and come up with the list I feel will make the last 14 or 13.

ODI squad -
Brian Lara, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Sachin Tendulkar, Kevin Pietersen, Marcus Trescothick, Rahul Dravid, Herschelle Gibbs, Veeru Sehwag,
Jacques Kallis, Abdul Razzaq, Shoaib Malik, Andrew Flintoff, Shahid Afridi, Chris Gayle, Shaun Pollock
Chaminda Vaas, Muttiah Muralitharan, Makhaya Ntini, Steve Harmison, Daniel Vettori, Shoaib Akhtar
Kumar Sangakkara, Brendon McCullum

People who will miss out -

  1. Brendon McCullum, Mark Boucher - Lose out in a direct fight with Kumar Sangakkara.

  2. Ramnaresh Sarwan, Herschelle Gibbs, Yousuf Youhana - No place with Lara, Inzy, Sachin, Rahul in the middle-order.

  3. Shahid Afridi, Virender Sehwag, Chris Gayle - Not consistent in ODIs to be considered.

  4. Shaun Pollock, Sanath Jayasuriya - Not in the best form of their career,

  5. Shoaib Akhtar - Not a definite for PAK itself - attitude issues,

  6. Harbhajan Singh, Daniel Vettori - No place with Murali being there in the 14 and other part-timers.

  7. Naved-ul-Hasan, Irfan Pathan, Darren Gough - No place with Vaas/Ntini and the other all-rounders.

Captain will be Brian Lara with Inzy as the vice-captain. Captain announced was Shaun Pollock with Sachin as vice-captain.

Test squad -
Virender Sehwag, Graeme Smith, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Brian Lara, Inzamam-ul-Haq, Younis Khan, Shiv Chanderpaul, Michael Vaughan
Jacques Kallis, Andrew Flintoff.
Chaminda Vaas, Steve Harmison, Anil Kumble, Makhaya Ntini, Muttiah Muralitharan, Shaun Pollock, Shoaib Akhtar, Daniel Vettori.
Mark Boucher, Brendon McCullum.

People who will miss out -

  1. Michael Vaughan, Herschelle Gibbs, Vangipurappu Laxman - Not in the best form of their career,

  2. Andrew Strauss - Loses out in the contest with Sehwag and Greame Smith already there,

  3. Younis Khan, Ramnaresh Sarwan - Lose out in the middle order with Sachin, Lara, Inzamam and Kallis

  4. Brendon McCullum, Kumar Sangakkara - Lose out in a direct fight with Mark Boucher,

  5. Shaun Pollock - Has lost his pace and form has dipped as well,

  6. Andrew Flintoff - Loses out in a direct fight with Kallis. Can be considered over Harmison if he has a good Ashes series,

  7. Naved-ul-Hasan,Irfan Pathan,Andre Nel - Lose out to Vaas/Ntini/Harmison,

  8. Shoaib Akhtar - Not a definite for PAK itself - attitude issues,

  9. Danish Kaneria - Loses out in a direct contest with Kumble,

  10. Harbhajan Singh - Loses out in a direct contest with Murali,

  11. Daniel Vettori - 2 spinners will be more than enough.

Captain will be Brian Lara with Inzy as the vice-captain. Captain announced was Greame Smith with Rahul Dravid as vice-captain.

Post a Comment