FB Group

Share the Passion

To exchange links with me, please send mail to madhusudan (dot) gr (at) gmail.com.
Session-dashboard - Tracking Test Matches as they progress.
Tracking T20 run-chases in an innovative manner - See here.

Saturday, December 18, 2010

2011 World Cup - India announce their 30 member squad

India announced their 30-member squad for the World Cup today. I had come up with my expected list 4 months back.

The squad named is as follows:
  1. Openers - Virender Sehwag, Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, M Vijay, Shikhar Dhawan, Ajinkya Rahane
  2. Middle-order - Virat Kohli, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma,  Ravindra Jadeja, Saurabh Tiwary, Yusuf Pathan, Cheteshwar Pujara
  3. Pace bowlers - Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Sreesanth, Munaf Patel, Ishant Sharma, Vinay Kumar, Praveen Kumar
  4. Spinners - Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Amit Mishra, Piyush Chawla, R Ashwin
  5. Wicket-keepers - MS Dhoni, Dinesh Karthik, Parthiv Patel, Wriddhiman Saha 
The ones highlighted in blue are the changes from the ones I had selected. While no major surprises were there, selection of 4 wicket-keepers was a luxury that one never imagined. Parthiv's two fifties in the NZ ODIs has helped the selectors choose him. Mithun and Dinda were left out - both must have felt disappointed after being part of the ODI squads earlier this year.

Overall, a squad where the major challenge will be to prune this list down to 15.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Post a Comment