FB Group

Share the Passion

To exchange links with me, please send mail to madhusudan (dot) gr (at) gmail.com.
Session-dashboard - Tracking Test Matches as they progress.
Tracking T20 run-chases in an innovative manner - See here.

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

World T20 championship - Indian team announced

The probables have been announced for the T20 World championship by the Indian selectors today.

Let us see how the players stack up

  • Wicket-keepers - MS Dhoni, Naman Ojha, Dinesh Karthik, Robin Uthappa. MSD will play for sure and Robin can be the replacement if need be. Will the selectors take this decision?
  • Openers - Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Ajinkya Rahane, Mandeep Singh, Shikhar Dhawan. Sehwag, Gambhir, Rahane will be the players to be selected - based on injuries or great loss of form, others can sneak in.
  • Middle-order - Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina,Manoj Tiwary, Yuvraj Singh, Ambati Rayudu. Based on Yuvraj's recovery, either he or Tiwary to miss out along with Rayudu. Rohit and Raina will get more chances to play alongside Virat Kohli.
  • Spinners - R Ashwin, Pragyan Ojha, Rahul Sharma, Piyush Chawla, Harbhajan Singh. It is very clear that Piyush and Harbhajan will not make the cut from this team. Again, based on the performances of the others during the SriLanka series, the final decision will be done.
  • Pacers - Umesh Yadav, Ashok Dinda, Vinay Kumar, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel, Praveen Kumar, L Balaji. Zaheer, Umesh and Vinay Kumar will be the first choice but once again the final say will be based on form and fitness.
  • All-rounders - Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Ravindra Jadeja. One of these three will be selected - which one? Looks like Irfan has taken the lead but others cannot be discounted.
My final fifteen for the T20 World Cup
Dhoni, Sehwag, Gambhir, Rahane, Kohli, Raina, Rohit Sharma, Manoj Tiwary (or Yuvraj), Ashwin, Ojha, Rahul Sharma, Zaheer Khan, Umesh Yadav, Vinay Kumar, Irfan Pathan.

Post a Comment