FB Group

Share the Passion

To exchange links with me, please send mail to madhusudan (dot) gr (at) gmail.com.
Session-dashboard - Tracking Test Matches as they progress.
Tracking T20 run-chases in an innovative manner - See here.

Wednesday, December 22, 2010

Greatest ODI Team of All-time

ICC has started a competition to select the greatest ODI players and teams of all-time, to mark the 40th anniversary of One-Day International (ODI) cricket.

Unfortunately, they have already given different categories in which readers have to select the players (My choices are also mentioned below with my rationale):

  • two openers - Matthew Hayden (A destructive top order player with an average of 43.80, he has been responsible for the starts Australia have received in ODIs), Sachin Tendulkar (Legend of the game)

  • three middle order players - Michael Bevan (The third highest batting average of all time, 53.58 in 232 matches, and arguably the greatest 'finisher' the game has ever seen. In this line-up, he can afford to play the big shots as well as shore the batting if there is a collapse), Aravinda de Silva (9,248 ODI runs helped Sri Lanka win the World Cup - a devastating player on his day on all grounds), Viv Richards (The most exciting batsman of all time - the one that inspired many a player to take up the sport. Will be the captain of this team as well)

  • an all-rounder - Ian Botham (One of the best all-rounders in the World whose batting in test matches resembled the ODI variety. Could swing the ball both ways)

  • a wicket-keeper - Adam Gilchrist (A strike-rate of 96.94, and a winner of three consecutive World Cup medals - In this line-up can open the batting or come lower down the order)

  • three fast bowlers - Wasim Akram (One of two players to have taken more than 500 ODI wickets - what a bowler he was!!), Allan Donald(Selected him for the sheer speed and dominant force he was in international cricket), Glenn McGrath (Another great who could bowl all day on line and length. Can restrict the scoring if the opponents have put up a good score)

  • a spinner - Shane Warne (The best spinner of all-time. Selected for his ability to take wickets)

  • It would have been good to have asked readers to select 2 teams so that the viewers could have identified more players from the pool selected. I have selected players from as many countries as possible so that a good representation can be made.

    To play this champion team, I propose this team that is also in the list provided by ICC:
    Sourav Ganguly, Gordon Greenidge, Brian Lara, Ricky Ponting(c), Jacques Kallis, MS Dhoni, Michael Holding, Waqar Younis, Dennis Lillee, Saqlain Mushtaq.

    Enhanced by Zemanta
    Post a Comment